Directors & Committees

The Company is controlled by the Board of Directors. The Board of Directors has overall responsibility for the Group. Its aim is to represent the interests of the Group's shareholders and to provide leadership and control in order to ensure the growth and development of a successful business.

The Board is responsible to shareholders for the proper management of the Group, and Board meetings are held at least eight times a year to set the overall direction and strategy of the Group, to review financial and operating performance and to advise on senior management appointments. Financial policy and budgets, including capital expenditure, are approved and monitored by the Board. All key strategic decisions are subject to Board approval. The Company Secretary is responsible for ensuring that Board procedures are followed and that applicable rules and regulations are complied with.


Stuart Gall Chief Executive Officer

Stuart was appointed Chief Executive Officer in 2009. Stuart was a joint founder and executive director of Fusion IP plc, an AIM listed university IP commercialisation company, before its purchase by IP Group plc for £103 million in 2014. Stuart has over 25 years’ experience in both small company start-ups and public companies and previously worked at British Airways plc, The Promotions Partnership Limited, Anvil Limited and Toad plc (now 21st Century Technology plc).

Nick Sleep Chief Technology Officer

Nick was appointed Chief Technology Officer in August 2012. Before joining the Group, Nick ran his own consultancy specialising in providing management support to early stage companies, one of his clients being MedaPhor Limited. Nick is a software engineer by background, but has also run companies in areas as diverse as stem cell therapeutics and biofuels. Previous companies include The Technology Partnership, The Automation Partnership, Procognia and Magnecell.

Wilson Jennings Finance Director

Wilson was appointed Finance Director in May 2014. He qualified as a Chartered Accountant with Deloitte Haskins & Sells in 1984. Wilson has experience of setting up US and European operations from his time as finance director of Isis Research plc and spent 14 years as finance director and latterly chief executive officer of AIM listed 21st Century Technology plc.

Ian Whittaker Chief Operating Officer

Ian was formerly the CEO of Inventive Medical Ltd (IML), the cardio ultrasound simulation company that was acquired by MedaPhor in August 2016. Ian previously held roles at Hewlett Packard (HP) in the UK and EMEA. He was appointed to the UK Board in 2002, working as Vice President for HP’s UK Consumer, Imaging and Printing business. Since leaving HP in 2005, Ian worked for a number of blue chip US technology companies before being appointed as CEO of IML in 2010.

Riccardo Pigliucci Non-Executive Chairman

Riccardo was appointed Chairman of the board of MedaPhor Limited in 2012. He has more than 30 years’ experience of guiding private and publically listed high technology companies and brings a wide range of experience in sales, marketing, operations, financing, acquisitions and public offerings within the medical sector. He is a former President, COO, and Board Member of The Perkin Elmer Corporation, has served as CEO of Life Sciences International plc, CEO of Discovery Partners International was on the Board of Dionex, a public company purchased by Thermo Fisher for more than $2 billion in December 2010 and most recently was on the board of DVS Sciences, sold in January 2014 to Fluidigm for $207 million.

Nazar Amso Non-Executive Director

One of the founders of the Group, Nazar has been a Fellow of the Royal College of Obstetricians and Gynaecologists since 1999 and Founding Fellow of the Higher Education Academy. Nazar is a recognised expert in the field of obstetrics and gynaecology and joined the Board of MedaPhor Limited on its incorporation in 2004. During 2015 Nazar was employed by Cardiff University which provided part-time consultancy services to the Group.

David Baynes Non-Executive Director

David was appointed to the board of MedaPhor Limited in 2011 and is currently the Chief Operating Officer of IP Group plc. David was the joint founder and Chief Executive Officer of Fusion IP plc before its purchase by IP Group plc for £103 million in 2014. David has previously worked at Celsis International plc, Toad plc (now 21st Century Technology plc), which he co-founded, and Codemasters Limited.

Nick Avis Non-Executive Director

Nick was the Scientific Director of MedaPhor Limited in its formative years and was appointed to the board of Medaphor Limited in 2006. Nick was one of the architects of the One Wales Research Institute for Visual Computing and the NISCHR BRU in Advanced Medical Image Analysis and Visualisation. He was a founding member of the COSMOS (Collaborative Online Social Media Observatory) and is currently the Executive Dean at the Faculty of Science and Engineering of the University of Chester.


  • Audit Committee

    The Audit Committee has the primary responsibility for monitoring the quality of internal controls and ensuring that the financial performance of the Group is properly measured and reported on. It receives and reviews reports from the Group’s management and external auditors relating to the interim and annual accounts and the accounting and internal control systems in use throughout the Group. The Audit Committee meets not less than twice in each financial year and has unrestricted access to the Group’s external auditors.

    The Audit Committee is be chaired by David Baynes and also includes Riccardo Pigliucci and Professor Nick Avis.

  • Remuneration Committee

    The Remuneration Committee consists of a committee chaired by David Baynes and also includes Riccardo Pigliucci and Professor Nick Avis.

    The Remuneration Committee reviews the performance of the executive directors and makes recommendations to the Board on matters relating to their remuneration and terms of service. The Remuneration Committee also makes recommendations to the Board on proposals for the granting of share options and other equity incentives pursuant to any employee share option scheme or equity incentive plan in operation from time to time. The Remuneration Committee meets as and when necessary.

    In exercising this role, the Directors have regard to the recommendations put forward in the UK Corporate Governance Code and the QCA Corporate Governance Code for Small and Mid-size Quoted Companies 2013.